Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Boston Symphony video: American Promise

December 3, 2020 @ 12:00 pm

Video concerts in the Boston Symphony Orchestra’s 2020-2021 reimagined season, entitled Music in Changing Times, reflect on both the challenges and the hope that define this era of the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic. Conductor Marcelo Lehninger leads the BSO in Copland’s Fanfare for the Common Man and Appalachian Spring. Lehninger also conducts Joan Tower’s Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman No. 1 and Barber’s Adagio for Strings. Members of the BSO conclude with Leila Adu-Gilmore’s Alyssum. This video is available through Jan. 2. (To view, a donation is required.)

An encore of the BSO’s opening concert in the transfigured calendar remains available through Dec. 19, subtitled American Promise: BSO associate conductor Ken-David Masur leads Dvořák’s New World Symphony and Ives’s The Unanswered Question. Two brief video features within the presentation touch on the BSO’s history and hopes and the life of Florence Price, whose folk-inflected String Quartet in G rounds out the program. https://www.bso.org/brands/bso/features/bso-now/american-promise.aspx


December 3, 2020
12:00 pm
Classical Voice North America