Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Cincy: New opus by Emily Cooley part of ‘Speak Truth’ initiative

November 24, 2017

As part of its annual One City, One Symphony initiative, which this year has the theme “Speak Truth,” the Cincinnati Symphony will present works that exemplify how music can be an artist’s voice in the face of injustice. The Nov. 24-25 program opens with a world premiere of Abound by Philadelphia-based composer Emily Cooley, who is a Community Artist Fellow at the Curtis Institute of Music, where she designs collaborative music programming with Philadelphians who are incarcerated or returning citizens. Also on the program, led by music director Louis Langrée: Tchaikovsky’s  Pathétique Symphony and Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1, featuring Truls Mørk.

Classical Voice North America